Special Events

Wild About Nebraska Speaker Series

The Wild About Nebraska Speaker Series is held at our Nature & Visitor Center

March 2020

Saturday, March 7

2 p.m. to 4 p.mNebraska Wildlife Federation’s 50th Anniversary Presentation

Friday, March 13

8 a.m. to 6 p.mMiletta Vista Winery

Saturday, March 14

8 a.m. to 6 p.mMiletta Vista Winery

2 p.m. Follow the Water, an 'NET' documentary telling the story of the Platte River Basin

Sunday, March 15

2 p.m. Deb Miller from Fontenelle Forest with Live Raptors

Friday, March 20

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Miletta Vista Winery

2 p.m. Bill Wallauer with the Jane Goodall Institute 

Saturday, March 21

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Miletta Vista Winery

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Art Show 

10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Artist Reception

Sunday, March 22

8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Art Show

Wednesday, March 25

3 p.m. “Crane Updates” by Dr. George Archibald, co-founder of the International Crane Foundation

Friday, March 27

8 a.m. to 6 p.mMiletta Vista Winery

Saturday, March 28 

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Miletta Vista Winery

1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Crane Trust Staff Presentations:

1 p.m. “Habitat and Forage Ecology of Wading Birds: with an Update on Sandhill Crane Abundance During Spring Migration Staging in Nebraska” by Andrew J. Caven, Director of Conservation Research

1:45 p.m. “Poo’s Clues: Examining Demographic Variation and Treatment Effectiveness” by Josh Wiese, Habitat Ecologist

2:30 p.m. “Thinking Outside the Otter Box:  Adaptability and Success of River Otters in Nebraska” by Jenna Malzahn,

Wildlife Biologist

3:15 p.m. “Crane Trust Bison and Land Management” by Timothy Smith, Director of Land Management