News & Events

Events, Blog Posts, News, and Updates

Just Migrating Through

Every year, thousands of Sandhill Cranes migrate through this area during the spring migration from mid-February to mid-April. Thousands of visitors also migrate through our area during this time to see the cranes. Visitors travel from all over the world to experience one of the greatest wildlife phenomena in North America and many leave a pin in our maps indicating where they are coming from. Our maps fill up with pins throughout the migration and visitors and staff alike enjoy seeing how far people have come to see the cranes. This year, all 50 states are filled with pins. We also had visitors from almost 60 different countries. Thank you to all who came and visited!

Countries with pins in 2019:

Argentina                                                    Malawi

Australia                                                     Malaysia

Austria                                                        Mexico

Bahamas                                                    Moldova

Bangladesh                                                Nepal

Bolivia                                                         Netherlands

Brazil                                                           New Zealand

Bulgaria                                                      Nicaragua

Canada                                                       Niger

Chad                                                           Nigeria

China                                                          Norway

Colombia                                                   Papua New Guinea

Congo                                                        Peru

Democratic Republic of Congo              Philippines

Dominican Republic                                 Russia

Egypt                                                           Saudi Arabia

El Salvador                                                 South Africa

France                                                         South Korea

Germany                                                    Spain

Greece                                                        Sri Lanka

Guatemala                                                 Sweden

Iceland                                                        Switzerland

India                                                            Thailand

Iran                                                              Turkmenistan

Israel                                                           Uganda

Italy                                                             Ukraine

Japan                                                          United Kingdom

Kazakhstan                                                Venezuela

Kenya                                                          Zimbabwe